University of Redlands

University of Redlands

Institutional Review Board

Any research project involving human participants must be approved by the University of Redlands Institutional Review Board (IRB).​​

The University of Redlands IRB is charged with determining whether human subjects used in research conducted by University faculty, administrators, and students will be treated in accordance with the provisions in the Federal Policy for the Protection of Human Research Subjects. On this website you can connect to the CITI Training website, download IRB forms, the procedures of the IRB, and connect to information about the IRBs and their activities.

IRB meeting dates

All meetings begin at 11:00am

Friday September 18, 2020 
(applications due before 4:00pm on Thursday September 10, 2020)

Friday October 16, 2020 
(applications due before 4:00pm on Thursday October 8, 2020)​

Friday November 20, 2020 
(applications due before 4:00pm on Thursday November 12, 2020)​



Friday December 18, 2020
(applications due before 4:00pm on Thursday December 10, 2020)​

Dates for Spring 2021 IRB Meetings will be announced in December 2020.

NOTE: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, until further notice, we are not accepting hard copies of your IRB applications and materials.  In lieu of the hard copies, please be sure to include a scanned copy (or picture) of the actual signature page of the application (i.e., with signatures, not typed names).

Completed Applications

Completed applications, one electronic copy and one hard copy with signatures, are due on the dates listed above (applications due). For additional information about the IRB (who to contact with questions, where to send applications, etc.) please see Redlands IRB Application Guidelines and FAQ.

Completed applications should be turned in at the Psychology Department, located in Larsen Hall room 135. (Due to the COVID-19 pandemic please see instructions for submitting your application listed above under the IRB Meeting dates.)

IRB Board and Contact

The current IRB consists of Riaz Tejani (School of Business), Nicol Howard (School of Education), Lori Osborn (Social Sciences), Jessica Hehman (Chair of the IRB), Milo Scherer (non-university representative), Teri Longin (Natural Sciences), Matthew Raffety (Humanities), and Catherine Salmon (member at large).

If you cannot find what you're looking for or have any questions, please e-mail Jessica Hehman, Chair of IRB.​​​​​